INTER-CITY FORUM ON SOCIAL POLICY TERMS-OF-REFERENCE

NAME:

This organization, established among Alberta cities and major urban areas with a population over 10,000, shall be known as the *Inter-City Forum on Social Policy (ICFSP or ICF*)*.

PURPOSE:

The Inter-City Forum on Social Policy (ICFSP) shall act as a vehicle for information-sharing, networking and advocacy for and among Alberta cities and other major urban areas, and the people who live in them, in an inter-government context. Its purpose is to address social policy, program and service issues that are of concern to Alberta urban municipalities.

MEMBERSHIP:

Except for additional specified members, the membership of the Inter-City Forum on Social Policy shall be open to representatives from the cities identified on Attachment 1 as well as the regional municipalities of Wood Buffalo and Strathcona County.

The membership of the ICFSP shall consist of one person from the Municipal Council and one senior staff person, from each of the foregoing municipalities.

In addition to the members from municipalities, Family and Community Support Services Association of Alberta (FCSSAA) and Alberta Urban Municipal Association (AUMA) shall be members and may each send two representatives; one elected and one senior staff person. Human Services, Government of Alberta shall also designate one senior staff person to be a member. Membership may also include any new members that the membership chooses to add.

OFFICERS:

At the first Meeting in each calendar year the Inter-City Forum on Social Policy shall elect a Chair and a Vice-Chair from among the members who are the respective Municipal Councillors. The Chair and the Vice-Chair shall each serve in her/his respective capacity for a one-year term.

The Chair shall be responsible for convening Meetings of the ICFSP during her/his term, and for preparing the Meeting Agenda. She/he shall provide the clerical and administrative support required for her/his term.

PROCEDURES:

(a) Elections

The Inter-City Forum on Social Policy Chair shall be elected by a simple majority of the membership present, whether Municipal Councillors, staff persons, FCSSAA or AUMA representative.

(b) Decisions other than Elections

In cases other than elections, the ICFSP shall strive to come to decisions following a consensus model. If a consensus decision can clearly not be achieved, then the decision shall be taken by a vote. In that case only each municipality from which the membership comes, and which is represented at the Meeting at the time of the vote, shall have one vote.

(c) Minutes

Minutes shall be kept of every meeting and distributed to members.

FREQUENCY OF MEETING:

The Inter-City Forum on Social Policy shall meet at least twice each year. The first Meeting shall be prior to April of each year, and the second (if there are no more than two) shall be prior to December 1.

Dated January 12, 1998.

Revised:

January 19, 2001

January 25, 2008 January 28, 2011 April 30, 2015 May 29, 2015 October 30, 2015

Attachment 1: List of Cities in Alberta

^{*}The Inter-City Forum on Social Policy (ICFSP or ICF) was previously the Inter-City Task Force on Social Policy (ICTFSP or ICTF).

List of Cities in Alberta (populations of at least 10,000 people)

As at October 2015

- 1. Airdrie
- 2. Brooks
- 3. Calgary
- 4. Camrose
- 5. Chestermere
- 6. Cold Lake
- 7. Edmonton
- 8. Fort Saskatchewan
- 9. Grande Prairie
- 10. Lacombe
- 11. Leduc
- 12. Lethbridge
- 13. Lloydminster
- 14. Medicine Hat
- 15. Red Deer
- 16. Spruce Grove
- 17. St. Albert
- 18. Wetaskiwin