

MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING OF COUNCIL -

BOARDS, COMMISSIONS AND COMMITTEES

May 22, 2025, 1:00 PM IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER

IN THẾ COUNCIL CHAMBER	
PRESENT:	Councillor P. Demong (Remote Participation) Councillor K. Penner Councillor J. Wyness Councillor T. Wong Councillor E. Spencer Councillor R. Dhaliwal Councillor J. Mian Councillor D. McLean Councillor S. Chu Councillor S. Chu Councillor S. Sharp (Remote Participation) Councillor G-C. Carra Councillor A. Chabot (Partial Remote Participation)
	Mayor J. Gondek
ALSO PRESENT:	Chief Administrative Officer D. Duckworth Chief Operating Officer S. Dalgleish City Solicitor and General Counsel J. Floen, KC A/City Solicitor and General Counsel L. Davies Chief Financial Officer L. Tochor

General Manager C. Arthurs General Manager K. Black General Manager D. Morgan A/General Manager McLeod A/General Manager Goldstein General Manager M. Thompson Legislative Coordinator M. A. Cario Senior Legislative Specialist A. de Grood

1. CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Gondek called the meeting to order at 1:04 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Councillor Chabot, Councillor Chu, Councillor Demong, Councillor Dhaliwal, Councillor McLean, Councillor Mian, Councillor Penner, Councillor Spencer, Councillor Walcott, Councillor Wong, Councillor Wyness, and Mayor Gondek

Absent from Roll Call: Councillor Sharp and Councillor Carra

2. OPENING REMARKS

Mayor Gondek provided opening remarks.

Councillor Dhaliwal provided a traditional land acknowledgement.

3. <u>RECOGNITIONS</u>

None

4. QUESTION PERIOD

None

5. <u>CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA</u>

Moved by Councillor Walcott Seconded by Councillor Mian

That the Agenda for the 2025 May 22 Regular Meeting of Council – Boards, Commissions and Committees be confirmed

MOTION CARRIED

6. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

None

- 7. CONSENT AGENDA
 - 7.1 DEFERRALS AND PROCEDURAL REQUESTS
- 8. <u>POSTPONED REPORTS</u> None
- 9. <u>ITEMS FROM OFRIGERS, ADMINISTRATION AND COMMITTEES</u> 9.1 CONSENTAGENDA ITEMS SELECTED FOR DEBATE None
 - 9.2 OFFICER OF COUNCIL REPORTS

None

- 9.3 ADMINISTRATION REPORTS
 - 9.3.1 2025 Annual Reports from Boards, Commissions and Committees, C2025-0459

A presentation entitled "Calgary Aboriginal Urban Affairs Committee" was distributed with respect to Report C2025-0459

Councillor Sharp (Remote Member) joined the meeting at 1:35 p.m.

Moved by Councillor Wong Seconded by Councillor Mian

That with respect to Report C2025-0459, the following be adopted:

That Council hear from representatives of the following Boards, Commissions and Committees with respect to Item 9.3.1., 2025 Annual Reports from Boards, Commissions and Committees, C2025-0459:

- Advisory Committee on Accessibility
- Anti-Racism Action Committee
- BiodiverCity Advisory Committee
- Calgary Aboriginal Urban Affairs Committee
- Calgary Planning Commission
- Calgary Police Commission
- Climate Advisory Committee
- Combative Sports Comprission
- Council Advisory Committee on Housing
- Social Wellbeing Advisory Committee
- Subdivision and Development Appeal Board

For: (13): Councillor Demong, Councillor Penner, Councillor Wyness, Councillor/Wong, Councillor Spencer, Councillor Dhaliwal, Councillor Mian, Councillor McLean, Councillor Chu, Councillor Walcott, Councillor Carra, Councillor Chaber, and Mayor Gondek

MOTION CARRIED

The following Boards, Commissions and Committee representatives addressed Council with respect to Report C2025-0459:

Advisory Committee on Accessibility: Chair Andrea van Vugt, Committee Member Cindy Fraser, and American Sign Language Interpreter, Deborah Russel.

Anti-Racism Action Committee: Co-Chair Rinad Al Adani and Co-Chair Rebecca Comer.

Calgary Aboriginal Urban Affairs Committee: Vice-Chair Winona Lafreniere.

Mayor Gondek left the Chair at 1:52. p.m. and Deputy Mayor Wong assumed the Chair.

Social Wellbeing Advisory Committee: Chair Joy Bowen-Eyre and Vice-Chair Uma Thakor.

BiodiverCity Advisory Committee: Chair Dianne Allen and Public Member Amanda Dickson.

Calgary Planning Commission: Chair Christian Lee.

Mayor Gondek resumed the Chair at 2:13 p.m.

Councillor Demong (Remote Member) left the meeting at 2:14 p.m.

Council recessed at 2:14 p.m. and reconvened at 2:22 p.m. with Mayor Gondek in the Chair.

ROLL CALL

Councillor Carra, Councillor Chabot, Councillor Chu, Councillor Dhałiwal, Councillor McLean, Councillor Mian, Councillor Penner, Councillor Sharp, Councillor Spencer, Councillor Walcott, Councillor Wong, Councillor Wyness, and Mayor Gondek

Absent from Roll Call: Councillor Demong

Climate Advisory Committee: Chain Pan Letizia.

Councillor Sharp (Remote Member) Velt the meeting at 2:30 p.m.

Councillor Sharp (Remote Member) joined the meeting at 2:32 p.m.

Subdivision and Development Appeal Board>Chair Tim Bardsley.

Council Advisory Committee on Housing: Chair Beverly Jarvis and Vice-Chair Kevin Webb.

Moved by Councillor Carra Seconded by Councillor Mian

That pursuant to Section 6(1) of the Procedure Bylaw 35M2017, Council suspend Section 78(1)(b) in order to complete the remainder of the Agenda.

Against: Councillor Dhaliwal

MOTION CARRIED

Calgary Police Commission: Vice-Chair Kelly Ogle.

Combative Sports Commission: Chair TJ Madigan and Deputy Chief, Business Safety, Michael Briegel

Moved by Councillor Penner Seconded by Councillor Carra

That with respect to Report C2025-0459, the following be adopted:

That Council thank Boards, Commissions and Committees for providing annual reports and delivering presentations.

For: (13): Councillor Penner, Councillor Wyness, Councillor Wong, Councillor Spencer, Councillor Dhaliwal, Councillor Mian, Councillor McLean, Councillor Chu, Councillor Walcott, Councillor Sharp, Councillor Carra, Councillor Chabot, and Mayor Gondek

MOTION CARRIED

9.4 COMMITTEE REPORTS

None

10. ITEMS DIRECTLY TO COUNCIL

10.1 BYLAW TABULATIONS

None

10.2 MISCELLANEOUS BUSINESS

None

11. URGENT BUSINESS

None

- 12. <u>CONFIDENTIAL ITEMS</u>
 - 12.1 CONSENT AGENDA

None

- 12.2 ITEMS FROM OFFICERS, ADAMNISTRATION AND COMMITTEES
- 12.3 URGENT BUSINESS

None

13. <u>ADMINISTRATIVE INQUIRIES</u> None

BRIÉFINGS

None

14.

15. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

Moved by Councillor Mian Seconded by Councillor Penner

That this Council adjourn at 3:36 p.m.

