# 2025 CALGARY AWARDS JURY MEMBERS

Four juries were assembled to review nominations and select the recipients for the 13 Calgary Awards. Juries are made up of a variety of people from different professions and backgrounds, including internal staff and Calgarians, and past recipients of a Calgary Award.

# 1. Community Achievement Awards (9 awards) and The International Achievement Award Jury

To ensure an efficient and comprehensive review of nominations, jury members were assigned a subset of the 9 Community Achievement award categories to review.

# Award Recipients from previous years

- Marichu Antonio (Citizen of the Year 2020)
- Madisen Hvidberg (Heritage 2022)
- Toyin Lafenwa Oladele (Arts 2024)
- Karen Begg (Community Advocate Individual 2024)

# Community Representatives

• Kathleen McNally, Calgary Arts Development

# Senior City Administrators (or designate)

• Erendira Cervantes-Altamirano, Director, Community Strategies

# Mayor's Office

• Gurbir Nijjar, Senior Advisor, Mayor's Office

*City staff facilitators of the jury:* Jay Ro, Civic Engagement, Events and Protocol Advisor, City Clerk's Office

# 2. The Environmental Achievement Award Jury

#### Community Representatives

- Devon Keiran, SunGrid
- Ed Ma, Suncor Energy Inc.
- Colin Pattison, SAIT
- Katrina Terrill, Alberta Institute for Wildlife Conservation
- Gerald Wheatley, The Arusha Centre

#### **Senior City Administrator**

• Carolyn Bowen, Director, Climate and Environment

*City staff facilitator*. Kelly Roswell, Environmental Programs Strategist, Climate and Environment

*City staff support:* Jay Ro, Civic Engagement, Events and Protocol Advisor, City Clerk's Office

# 3. The Award for Accessibility Jury

#### **Community Representatives**

- Carol Armes, Advisory Committee on Accessibility
- Loraine Fowlow, Advisory Committee on Accessibility
- Andrea van Vugt, Advisory Committee on Accessibility
- James Teague, My Everything Store

#### Senior City Administrator

• Menna Kebede, Manager, Anti-Racism Program

*City staff facilitators:* Nicola Youle, Issue Strategist, Development, Business and Building Services

*City staff support:* Jay Ro, Civic Engagement, Events and Protocol Advisor, City Clerk's Office

# 4. The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize Jury

The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize was juried by the Writers' Guild of Alberta based on an agreement with the Writers' Guild when the Calgary Award was first established in 1996. The three-person jury from the Canadian literary community is comprised of a Calgarian, an Albertan from outside Calgary and a Canadian from outside Alberta.

- John Wickham, Quebec City, QC
- Candace Jane Dorsey, Edmonton, AB
- Lori D. Roadhouse, Calgary, AB