Amendments to Calgary Planning Commission Bylaw 28P95

- 1. Bylaw 28P95, the Calgary Planning Commission Bylaw, as amended, is hereby further amended as follows:
 - (a) Delete Section 4 in its entirety, replace with the following, and update all cross references affected by this replacement.

"The Calgary Planning Commission is established as a municipal planning commission by this bylaw to consist of the following:

- (a) (i) Ten public members.
 - (ii) Public members shall be appointed at the annual Organizational Meeting of Council and shall serve for a period of two years or until their successors are appointed, whichever occurs last. Public members first appointed pursuant to these provisions may be appointed for a period of one year so as to provide for staggered appointments.
 - (iii) Members of the Commission shall be appointed for either one or two year terms that commence on January 1 and end on December 31.
 - (iv) Public members appointed to the Commission shall be required to disclose any pecuniary interest in the same manner as required of an elected representative pursuant to Sections 169, 170 and 172 of the *Municipal Government Act*.
 - (v) No citizen shall be appointed to serve more than three consecutive two year terms.
 - (i) Two employees of the City, each of whom must be a General Manager, Director or Manager appointed by the *Chief Administrative Officer*. The *Chief Administrative Officer* shall appoint one of the two employees as Chairperson of the Commission.
 - (ii) The employees appointed pursuant to subsection 4(c)(i) shall each remain a member of the Commission for so long as such person holds the position of General Manager, Director or Manager as applicable, or until such appointment is revoked by the *Chief Administrative Officer*.

- (iii) In the event of the temporary absence of a member appointed pursuant to subsection 4(b)(i), the member shall, in writing, appoint an employee of the City to act in his or her place.
- (iv) In the event of the temporary absence of a member where the member has not appointed an employee of the City to act in his or her place pursuant to subsection 4(b)(iii), the *Chief Administrative Officer* shall appoint an employee of the City to act in place of the absent member on an interim basis.
- (c) (i) Members of Council may not be appointed to the Commission.
 - (ii) Notwithstanding Section C.8 of Procedure Bylaw 35M2017, the Mayor shall not be an ex-officio member of the Commission."
- (c) Delete subsection 7(d) in its entirety and replace with the following:
 - "(d) The City Clerk's Office will provide legislative services for the Commission."
- (d) Delete section 9 in its entirety, update all cross references affected by this replacement and replace with the following:
 - "9 Notwithstanding Section 4 all members of the Commission, including Members of Council, holding office immediately prior to July 30, 2024 shall continue as members of the Commission until December 31 of the year their appointment is set to expire."

