### 2013 CALGARY AWARDS JURY MEMBERS

# **Community Achievement Awards and Signature Awards**

Nine people were recruited and participated on this jury. The jury members were as follows:

### **Award Recipients from previous years**

- Sherrold Moore (Community Advocate 2004)
- Barb Stein, 17<sup>th</sup> Ave Retail Entertainment District (Community Advocate Organization 2007)
- ♦ Sheldon Kennedy (Citizen of the Year 2012)

#### **Retired Member of Council**

Gord Lowe

## **Community Representatives**

- Anila Lee Yuen, Calgary Arts Development (CAD)
- Michael McMordie, West End Legal Centre

## **Senior City Administrators**

- ♦ Ryan Jestin, Director, Roads
- Anne Charlton, Director, Parks

#### Mayor's Office

♦ Nancy Close, Mayor's Office

City staff facilitators of the Jury: Connie Crowe and Zahra Khalani, Citizen Recognitions & Protocol, City Clerk's Office.

# **Environmental Achievement Awards**

Seven people were recruited and participated on this jury. The jury members were as follows:

# Award Recipient from previous year

♦ Lonny Balbi (Community Advocate 2009)

# Retired Member of Council

🔙 / Ray Clark)

# Community Representatives

- Patricia Cameron, Green Calgary, Executive Director
- Rat Letizia. Alberta Ecotrust Foundation. Executive Director
- Adam Gagnon, Enmax Energy, Market Development Manager
- ♦ Neil Symington, Suncor Energy Inc., SR Advisor, Sustainable Integration

#### **Senior City Administrator**

 Tracey Moll, Manager, Strategic Services, Environmental and Safety Management

City Staff Advisor and City Resource: Kyle White, Environmental & Safety Management & Ron Schafer, Transportation Planning (Blue Skies Award)

C2014-0247 2013 Calgary Awards Selection Att-2 ISC: Confidential

# **Award for Accessibility**

Five people were recruited and participated on this jury. The jury members were as follows:

## **Community Representatives**

- ◆ Colin Cantlie, Canadian Deaf & Hard of Hearing Association
- ◆ Darby Young, Cerebral Palsy Association of Alberta
- Philip Bobawsky, Community Representative
- ♦ Justin Painchaud, Canadian Paraplegic Association
- ♦ Cal Schuler, Canadian Paraplegic Association

City staff facilitator of the jury: Leanne Squair, Community Neighbourhood Services City staff advisors and City resource: Leanne Squair, Community Neighbourhood Services & Ulrik Seward, Development & Building Approvals

# The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize

The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize was juried by the Writers Guild of Alberta based on an agreement with the Writers Guild when the Award was first established in 1996. The three person jury from the Canadian literary community is comprised of a Calgarian, an Albertan outside Calgary and Canadian from outside Alberta.

- Lois Ng, Calgary AB (had to withdraw)
- Melissa Morelli Lacroix, Edmonton AB
- Francois Pare, Waterloo ON

