THE CITY OF CALGARY

TABULATION OF BYLAW(s)

TO BE PRESENTED TO COUNCIL ON

MONDAY, 2014 APRIL 28

BYLAW 36M2014 BEING A BYLAW OF THE CITY OF CALGARY TO AMEND BYLAW 60M90, THE TRUCK ROUTES BYLAW

First Reading Second Reading Authorization for Third Reading Third Reading

NOTE: This bylaw amendment is required for Beddington Trail to be designated as a restricted truck route to allow the Traffic Engineer to impose time restrictions with regard to truck traffic. These temporary time restrictions were adopted at the 2014 March 10 Combined Meeting of Council in Recommendation 3 of Report TT2014-0142.

Excerpt from the Minutes of the Combined Meeting of Council, held 2014 March 10:

"MITIGATION OF NOISE IMPACTS TO RESIDENTS ALONG BEDDINGTON TRAIL, TT2014-0142

AMENDMENT, Moved by Councillor Pincott, Seconded by Councillor Stevenson, that the Administration Recommendations contained Report TT2014-0142 be amended, by adding a Recommendation 3, as follows:

"3 Direct Administration to bring forward to Council the amendments to the Truck Routes Bylaw required to allow for the implementation of the actions outlined in Recommendation 2."

Opposed: B. Pincott

CARRIED

ADOPT, AS AMENDED, Moved by Councillor Keating, Seconded by Councillor Chu, that the SPC on Transportation and Transit Recommendations contained in Report TT2014-0142, be adopted, **as amended**, as follows:

That Council direct Administration to:

- 1. Continue with the plan to start construction in 2015 on a 4 meter high noise barrier along Beddington Trail.
- 2. Restrict truck route traffic between 1900 0600 hours on Monday to Saturday, and not allow truck route traffic from 1900 on Saturday through to 0600 on Monday morning along Beddington Trail between Stoney Trail NW and Country Hills Boulevard NW until such time as the recommended 4 meter high noise barrier is constructed.
- 3. Direct Administration to bring forward to Council the amendments to the Truck Routes Bylaw required to allow for the implementation of the actions outlined in Recommendation 2.

ROLL CALL VOTE:

For:

G-C. Carra, A. Chabot, D. Colley-Urquhart, P. Demong, R. Jones, S. Keating, J. Magliocca, J. Stevenson, N. Nenshi

Against: E. Woolley, D. Farrell, B. Pincott, R. Pootmans, W. Sutherland

CARRIED"

ATTACHMENT:

- Bylaw 36M2014