Aboriginal Urban Affairs Committee (Calgary)

Terms of Reference

Mandate: The primary purpose of the Committee is to provide Council with

professional and strategic advice on matters that affect Aboriginal

Calgarians, and offer ongoing guidance in relation to the implementation of

strategies that advance Aboriginal interests in ways that benefit all

Calgarians.

Composition: Minimum of 12 and Maximum of 14 Members of the Community

At least 60 per cent plus 1 should be Aboriginal and will include one Aboriginal youth.

Members must reside in the city of Calgary, with the exception of up to two aboriginal members who reside outside of Calgary but within the Treaty 7 territory.

Criteria to serve:

1) Aboriginal self-identity;

- 2) Knowledge of the Aboriginal history and current events;
- 3) Knowledge of the urban Aboriginal community; and
- 4) Personal experiences working with Aboriginal people.

The Chair person position and the Vice-Chair position must be held by Aboriginal committee members and must be willing to support advancing Aboriginal interests, have demonstrated leadership abilities, and be willing to speak on behalf of the Aboriginal community.

The Chair and Vice-Chair will be nominated and elected annually by the committee, and may serve up to three consecutive terms in each position.

Term: 2 year terms, staggered

Term Expiry Month: November

Meetings: Monthly

Day: 1st Tuesday Time: 5:00 p.m.

Location: Community Board Room

3rd Floor

Alberta Trade Centre (315 - 10th Avenue SE)

Quorum: 9 members if committee has fulfilled the maximum number of 14 members;

8 members if the minimum number of 12 vacancies is achieved;

The majority of five (or more) must be Aboriginal.

Eligibility Member Recruitment Profile

Resource Staff: Crowshoe, Ms.Lorna (403-268-5149 \$\circ\$)

Administrative Contact:

{Vacant}

Reports To: Standing Policy Committee on Community and Protective Services

Notes:

The committee will review interested applicants, and make a $\,$ Attachment 2 recommendation to Council for membership appointments.

Chair	Vice Chair	Member	Role	First Appt	Expiry Year
		Ms. Cristi Birch	Aboriginal Member	2010	2016
	×	Ms. Evelyn Good Striker	Aboriginal Member	2012	2016
		Ms. Nikkole Heavy Shields	Aboriginal Youth Member	2014	2015
AND THE REAL PROPERTY OF THE PERSON NAMED IN COLUMN TWO IS NOT THE PERSON NAMED IN COLUMN TO THE		Ms. Lisa Hunt	Aboriginal Member	2014	2016
***************************************		Mr. Ben Kawaguchi	Non-Aboriginal Member	2012	2015
		Ms. Ena Kuang	Non-Aboriginal Member	2013	2015
		Ms. Candeena Langan	Aboriginal Member	2013	2015
		Mr. Ross McDougall	Non-Aboriginal Member	2012	2015
		Ms. Sandi Morrisseau	Aboriginal Member	2014	2016
X		Mr. Brian L. Mountain	Aboriginal Member	2012	2015
		Ms. Marilyn North Peigan	Aboriginal Member	2012	2015
		Ms. Nedine Simeon	Aboriginal Member	2007	2016
		Mrs. Lisa D. Young	Non-Aboriginal Member	2013	2015
		{Vacant}	Non Aboriginal Member	0	N/A