C2021-1643

ISC: UNRESTRICTED

Clerks Note to Combined Meeting of Council 2021 December 06

## RE: Calgary Police Commission Citizen Member Appointment Announcement, C2021-1643

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

That Council receive the following announcements to the Calgary Police Commission for the terms as set out below, or when a successor is appointed, whichever is later, for the Corporate Record:

New appointee for a 1-year term expiring on 2022 October 31:

Pam Karnik

Public Members, for 2-year terms expiring on 2023 October 31:

- Jeffrey French
- Shawn Cornett
- Kim Lynch Proctor
- Marilyn North Peigan
- Theresa Roessel
- Amtul Siddiqui

## **Background**

At the 2021 November 9 Nominations Committee Meeting, a motion was approved to recommend that Council appoint public members to various Boards, Commissions and Committees (BCCs). At the 2021 November 15 Combined Meeting of Council, the motion was adopted by Council to appoint the public members to various BCCs. The announcement of the names appointed to the Calgary Police Commission was required to be delayed until the Calgary Police Service enhanced security clearances have been completed.

The motion from 2021 November 15 is outlined below:

## Excerpt from the Minutes of the Combined Meeting of Council, held 2021 November 15:

"Moved by Councillor Carra Seconded by Councillor Mian

That with respect to Report N2021-1207, the following be adopted:

That Council:

- 1. Appoint Public Members to the following Boards, Commissions and Committees (BCCs):
  - g. Calgary Police Commission (Revised Attachment 7a)

ISC: Unrestricted 2021 December 6 Combined Meeting of Council

City Clerk's: L. Kearnes Page 2 of 2 ... and

2. Direct that the Closed Meeting discussions, Attachments 1a – 16 and selection materials related to report N2021-1207 remain confidential pursuant to Sections 17 (Disclosure harmful to personal privacy) and 19 (Confidential evaluations) of the *Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act*.

For: (15) Councillor Carra, Councillor Chu, Councillor Demong, Mayor Gondek, Councillor Sharp, Councillor Spencer, Councillor Walcott, Councillor Pootmans, Councillor McLean, Councillor Wyness, Councillor Mian, Councillor Penner, Councillor Chabot, Councillor Wong, and Councillor Dhaliwal

**MOTION CARRIED**"