Attachment 1 - Background and Previous Council Direction

The Pension Governance Committee was established in 2002 for oversight of governance of pension plans and retirement arrangements in which City employees and Council participate. The Pension Governance Committee ensures compliance with the Alberta Employment Pension Plans Act and the Canadian Income Tax Act.

At the 2003 September 29 Special Meeting of Council regarding Pension Matters, Council directed "The Corporate Pension Governance Committee to bring forward an annual report, through the Accountability, Priorities and Agenda Committee to City Council on the state of Corporate Pensions based upon the reporting fundamentals of clarity, transparency and full disclosure, and further that this annual report be publicly available following acceptance by City Council."

The Pension Governance Committee consists of five members appointed by the City Manager and two Council members appointed by Council. The 2020 members were:

- Mark Lavallee, Chief Human Resources Officer
- Rebecca Andersen, Barrister & Solicitor, City Law Department
- Carla Male, Chief Financial Officer
- Michael Thompson, General Manager Green Line
- Laura Kennedy, Director/City Clerk (January to July)
- Rick Valdarchi, Director, Waste & Recycling Services (October To December)
- Councillor Diane Colley-Urquhart
- Councillor Ray Jones (January to October)
- Mayor Naheed Nenshi (October to December)

The 2020 attendance for current PGC members is as follows:

PGC Member	Meetings Attended	Representative Sent
Mark Lavallee	4/4	0/4
Carla Male	4/4	0/4
Michael Thompson	2/4	1/4
Rick Valdarchi	1/1	0/1
Rebecca Andersen*	0/4	4/4
Councillor Diane Colley-Urquhart	2/4	n/a**
Mayor Naheed Nenshi	1/1	n/a**

^{*} maternity leave in 2020

^{**} Councillors cannot send representatives