

Calgary Police Commission

Bylaw

Mandate: - General oversight of the Calgary Police Service

- Establish policies for efficient and effective policing
- Appoint the Chief of Police, subject to ratification by Council of employment contract
- Prepare estimates of monies required for the fiscal year and yearly plan to be submitted to Council for approval
- Monitor the police complaints process
- **Composition:** 2 Members who may be members of Council or municipal employees 9 Residents of the City

Current and former employees of the Calgary Police Service, including sworn and civilian, shall not be appointed to the Commission. A Councillor may be a Member of the Police Commission only so long as they remain a Councillor.

Term: 2 year terms. Staggering of terms took place in 2001. Appointments are effective November 1 to October 31.

A Member of a the Police Commission is eligible for reappointment if the reappointment does not result in more than 10 consecutive years of service by that member. (Police Act RSA 2010, Ch. 21)

Any vacancies shall be filled for the balance of that term within 60 days from the date Council is notified that the vacancy has occurred to ensure continuity.

Term Expiry Month: October

Meetings: Meetings Monthly (except April, August, and December) Dav: Time: Location: Primary Rocky Mountain Plaza

Quorum: 5

Resource Staff: Wright, Ms.Ellen (403-428-8914)

Administrative Ms. Ellen Wright (Executive Director) Contact: Calgary Police Commission #650, 615 Macleod Tr SE Calgary AB T2G 4T8 Bus: 403-428-8914 🚇 E-mail: EWright@calgarypolicecommission.ca

Reports To: City Council (The Police Commission liaises directly with Council)

Website: Calgary Police Commission

Notes: Calgary Police Service security checks are carried out on potential members

prior to appointment.

Chair	Vice Chair	Member	Role	Current Appointment	Expiry Year
		Ms. Myra D'Souza	Resident of the City	2015	2017
		Mr. Ferdinand Legaspi	Resident of the City	2015	2017
		Mr. John Liu	Resident of the City	2014	2018
	x	Mr. Chris Salmon	Resident of the City	2015	2017
		Mr. Howard Shikaze	Resident of the City	2010	2017
		Mr. Richard Sigurdson	Resident of the City	2016	2018
	x	Ms. Lisa Silver	Resident of the City	2012	2018
x		Mr. Brian Thiessen	Resident of the City	2015	2017
		Councillor Ward Sutherland	Member of Council	2014	2018
		Mr. Tyler Shandro	Resident of the City	2015	2017
		{Vacant}	Member of Council	0	N/A