## Previous Council Direction - From the 2017 December 11 Combined Meeting of Council



Report Number: C2017-1179

Meeting: Combined Meeting of Council

Meeting Date: 2017 November 20

## NOTICE OF MOTION

RE: COUNCIL CHAMBER SEATING

Sponsoring Councillor(s): Councillor Keating, Councillor Sutherland

WHEREAS the Council Chambers seating plan for Members of Council has not been revised in some time:

AND WHEREAS changes in Council can only be made through a request to the Mayor from two Members of Council;

AND WHEREAS there is currently no mechanism for a full reshuffle of Council seating arrangements;

AND WHEREAS regular seating changes could encourage more positive interactions between Councillors.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that City Clerks randomly generate a new seating plan for Members of Council after each Organizational Meeting;

AND FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED that these changes come into effect after the Organizational Meeting in 2018.

## **Excerpt from the Minutes of the 2017 December 11 Combined Meeting of Council:**

"COUNCIL CHAMBER SEATING, C2017-1179

Moved by Councillor Gondek

Seconded by Councillor Farkas

#### Amendment:

That the first Be It Resolved paragraph be amended by adding the words "after taking into account accessibility and ergonomic issues" following the words "Now therefore be it resolved that".

**MOTION CARRIED** 

# Moved by Councillor Keating Seconded by Councillor Sutherland

That with respect to Notice of Motion C2017-1179, the following be adopted, as amended:

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED **after taking into account accessibility and ergonomic issues**, that the City Clerk's Office randomly generate a new seating plan for Members of Council after each Organizational Meeting;

AND FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED that these changes come into effect after the Organizational Meeting in 2018.

## **ROLL CALL VOTE:**

For: (8) Mayor Nenshi, Councillor Chahal, Councillor Davison, Councillor Farkas, Councillor

Gondek, Councillor Jones, Councillor Keating, and Councillor Sutherland

Against: Councillor Carra, Councillor Chu, Councillor Colley-Urquhart, Councillor Demong,

(7) Councillor Farrell, Councillor Magliocca, and Councillor Woolley

**MOTION CARRIED**"