# 2016 CALGARY AWARDS JURY MEMBERS

## Community Achievement Awards and Signature Award

*Eight people were recruited and participated on this jury. The jury members were as follows:* 

#### Award Recipients from previous years

- Sherrold Moore (Community Advocate 2004)
- Alida Visbach (Heritage 2013)
- Becky Scott (Commerce 2015)

### **Retired Member of Council**

• Gord Lowe

### **Community Representatives**

- Raman Gill, Calgary Arts Development
- Pam Heard, Calgary Heritage Authority

## **Senior City Administrators**

- Richard Hinse, Director, Calgary Community Standards
- Mayor's Office
  - Nancy Close, Community Relations Coordinator

*City staff facilitators of the jury:* Connie Crowe, Nathalie MacInnis and Nicole Norton, Citizen Recognitions & Protocol, City Clerk's Office.

## Environmental Achievement Awards

*Four people were recruited and participated on this jury. The jury members were as follows:* 

#### Former Member of Council

Gael MacLeod

#### **Community Representatives**

- Ed Ma, Suncor Energy Inc.
- Helen Corbett, All One Sky Development
- Áine Keogh, University of Calgary Office of Sustainability

#### Senior City Administrator

• Chris Collier, Director, Environmental & Safety Management

*City staff advisor*. Jason Proche, Environmental & Safety Management *City staff facilitators of the jury:* Connie Crowe and Nathalie MacInnis, Citizen Recognitions & Protocol, City Clerk's Office.

# 2016 CALGARY AWARDS JURY MEMBERS

## Award for Accessibility

*Four people were recruited and participated on this jury. The jury members were as follows:* 

#### **Community Representatives**

- Cal Schuler, Canadian Paraplegic Association
- Dr. John Latter, Advisory Committee on Accessibility
- Philip Bobawsky, Community Representative
- Kristen Ryder, Community Representative

*City staff facilitator of the jury:* Leanne Squair, Calgary Neighbourhoods *City staff advisors:* Leanne Squair, Calgary Neighbourhoods & Pat Sweet, Calgary Building Services

*City staff support:* Connie Crowe, Citizen Recognitions & Protocol, City Clerk's Office.

## The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize

The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize was juried by the Writers Guild of Alberta based on an agreement with the Writers Guild when the Award was first established in 1996. The three person jury from the Canadian literary community is comprised of a Calgarian, an Albertan outside Calgary and a Canadian from outside Alberta.

- Nadine Mackenzie, Calgary, AB
- Pierrette Requier, Edmonton, AB
- Lise Gaboury-Diall, Winnipeg, MB