

## Boards, Commissions & Committees

## **Calgary Police Commission**



Mandate: - General oversight of the Calgary Police Service

- Establish policies for efficient and effective policing

- Appoint the Chief of Police, subject to ratification by Council of employment contract

- Prepare estimates of monies required for the fiscal year and yearly plan to be submitted to Council for approval

- Monitor the police complaints process

Composition: 2 Members who may be members of Council or municipal employees

9 Residents of the City

Current and former employees of the Calgary Police Service, including sworn and civilian, shall not be appointed to the Commission. A Councillor may be a Member of the Police Commission only so long as

they remain a Councillor.

Term: 2 year terms. Staggering of terms took place in 2001. Appointments are effective November 1 to October 31.

A Member of a the Police Commission is eligible for reappointment if the reappointment does not result in more than 10 consecutive years of service by that member. (Police Act RSA 2010, Ch. 21)

Any vacancies shall be filled for the balance of that term within 60 days from the date Council is notified that the vacancy has occurred to ensure continuity.

Term Expiry October

Meetings: Meetings Monthly (except April, August, and December)

Day: Time:

Location:

Primary Rocky Mountain Plaza

Quorum: 5

Resource Staff: Spicer, Heather (403-428-8914)

**Administrative** Heather Spicer (Executive Director)

Contact: Calgary Police Commission

650-615 MacLeod Trail SE Calgary AB T2G 4T8 Bus: 403-428-8914

E-mail: HSpicer@calgarypolicecommission.ca

Reports To: City Council (The Police Commission liaises directly with Council)

Website: Calgary Police Commission

Notes: Calgary Police Service security checks are carried out on potential

members prior to appointment.

Chair	Vice Chair	Member	Role	Current	Expiry
	Citali	Charles Carratt		Appointment Year	
		Shawn Cornett	Resident of the City	2019	2021
X		Bonita Croft	Resident of the City	2018	2020
		Marco De Iaco	Resident of the City	2019	2020
		Marilyn North Peigan	Resident of the City	2017	2021
		Amtul Siddiqui	Resident of the City	2019	2021
	x	Richard Sigurdson	Resident of the City	2016	2020
		Tongjie Zhang	Resident of the City	2018	2020
		Councillor Jeromy Farkas	Member of Council	2019	2020
		Councillor Jyoti Gondek	Member of Council	2017	2021
		{Vacant}	Resident of the City	0	N/A
		{Vacant}	Resident of the City	0	N/A