Calgary Parking Authority Summary of Governance Structure & Succession Plan

The Calgary Parking Authority (CPA) is governed by a nine-member Board of Directors. Each year, the Board is selected by The City of Calgary. The current board includes five public members, The City of Calgary's Chief Financial Officer, The City's General Manager of Transportation, and two Councillors.

Chair – John Pantazopoulos
Councillor Jeff Davison
Councillor Sean Chu
John Kwong, CFO's designate (City of Calgary)
Michael Thompson, General Manager of Transportion (City of Calgary)
Shahid Qureshi
Andrew Osis
Charmaine Coutinho
Ellen Chidley

The Board is governed by its own Charter and Terms of Reference, and City of Calgary Bylaw 28M2002. The Board uses a skills-based matrix to recruit for vacancies, following The City's new processes for Boards, Commissions and Committees (CP2016-03).

Committees of the Board are also governed by their own Charter and Terms of Reference. These committees and a brief description of each are as follows:

Governance Committee – Ensures the CPA Board fulfills its legal, ethical, and functional responsibilities through adequate governance and internal operations oversight. The Committee responsibilities include maintenance of governance processes and documention, review of Board and Committee structure and appointments, as well as Board performance and compensation.

Audit Committee – Provides governance and oversight on CPA's financial reporting, internal control system, risk management and the external audit function. Recommendations of the Committee, such as approval of annual financial statements, are presented to the CPA Board as applicable.

The Terms of Reference for the Board and each Committee are reviewed and updated on an annual basis. There have been no signficant changes to the Terms of Reference for the CPA Board or any CPA Committee in the past year.

The CPA utilizes a consistent and transparent recruitment and selection process for staff. A behavioural based interview process is performed, along with rigourous screening processes.

Appointment dates / end of term of Elector Members are as follows:

		Appointment Date	End of Term
Chair	John Pantazopoulos	2015	2020
Vice-Chair	Andrew Osis	2018	2020
Director	Ellen Chidley	2015	2020
Director	Charmaine Coutinho	2018	2020

AC2019-0630 Attachment 1 ISC: UNRESTRICTED

Director Shahid Qureshi 2018 2020