

Boards, Commissions & Committees

Calgary Planning Commission

Bylaw

Mandate: 1. To advise and assist Council and co-ordinate the activities of various Departments & agencies of The City with regard to the planning of orderly and economical development and maintaining and improving the quality of the physical environment for human settlement within the City, including but not limited to the following:

(i) review and approval of Outline Plans;

(ii) review and approval of Tentative Plans not within the scope of section 5(a) (Bylaw 28P95);

(iii) advising Council on land use matters;

(iv) review and make recommendations on municipal projects referred to it; and

(v) review and approval of development permit applications as a

Development Authority pursuant to The Development Authority Bylaw; (vi) any other planning matter referred to it.

2. To perform those administrative functions as delegated to it by Council pursuant to the Municipal Government Act; and

3. To perform on behalf of Council such functions as Council may require.

Composition: 1 Mayor

2 Members of Council - may not be a member of SDAB

6 Citizens

2 Employees of the City, each of whom must be a General Manager or a Director

Four of the six citizen positions may be selected from citizens with expertise in:

- Architecture
- Enaineerina
- Home Building
- Landscape Architecture
- Real Estate Development
- Real Estate and/or Planning Law
- Urban Design
- Urban Planning

or other areas of expertise Council deems appropriate.

Traditionally, Non-Binding nominations have been solicited from the following organizations, with no obligation to appoint any of the citizen positions from within these groups:

- Alberta Association of Architects

- Alberta Association of Landscape Architects

- Alberta Professional Planners Institute
- Association Professional Engineers & Geoscientists of Alberta
- BILD Calgary Region
- Canadian Bar Association
- Federation of Calgary Communities

Term: 2 years, staggered - Citizens (No citizen shall be appointed to serve more than three (3) consecutive two (2) year terms) 1 year - Councillor Term of Office - Mayor For so long as such person holds the position of General Manager or Director

Term Expiry Month: November

Meetings: Bi-weekly

2nd and 4th Thursday Day: Time: 1:00 p.m. Location: Council Chamber

Quorum: 6 (including one of the General Managers)

Eligibility Information: Member Recruitment Profile

Resource Staff: Cope, Ian (268-5483)

Administrative Kimberly Holberton (Admin Asst CPC Development) Contact: City of Calgary The City of Calgary (#8062) P.O. Box 2100, Stn. M Calgary AB T2P 2M5 Bus: 403-268-1482 E-mail: Kimberly.Holberton@calgary.ca

Reports To: Council

Website: Calgary Planning Commission

Chair	Vice Chair	Member	Role	Current Appointment	Expiry Year
		Colin E Friesen	Representative, nominated by Alberta Association of Architects	2014	2018
		Andrew Palmiere	Representative, nominated by Alberta Professional Planners Institute	2016	2018
		Mayor Naheed Nenshi	Mayor	2010	N/A
		Melvin G. Foht	Citizen-at-Large	2015	2019
		Lourdes Juan	Citizen-at-Large	2016	2018
		Douglas Leighton	Citizen-at-Large	2016	2018
		James Scott	Representative, nominated by BILD Calgary Region	2017	2019
		Councillor Jyoti Gondek	Member of Council	2017	2018
		Councillor Evan Woolley	Member of Council	2017	2018
		Matthias Tita	Employee of the City	2016	N/A
		Ryan Vanderputten	Employee of the City	2018	N/A