

SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

REGULAR MEETING OF COUNCIL -

MID-CYCLE ADJUSTMENTS TO 2023-2026 SERVICE PLANS AND BUDGETS

November 18, 2024, 9:30 AM IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER

PRESENT: Councillor P. Demong

Councillor K. Penner Councillor J. Wyness Councillor T. Wong

Councillor E. Spencer (Partial Remote Participation)

Councillor R. Pootmans Councillor R. Dhaliwal Councillor J. Mian Councillor D. McLean Councillor S. Chu

Councillor C. Walcott (Partial Remote Participation)

Councillor S. Sharp Councillor G-C. Carra Councillor A. Chabot Mayor J. Gondek

ALSO PRESENT: Chief Administrative Officer D. Duckworth

Chief Operating Officer S. Dalgleish

City Solicitor and General Counsel J. Floen

A/Chief Financial Officer L. Tochor General Manager C. Arthurs General Manager K. Black General Manager D. Morgan General Manager M. Thompson

City Clerk K. Martin

Deputy City Clerk J. Fraser

Senior Legislative Advisor J. Palaschuk

9. ITEMS FROM OFFICERS, ADMINISTRATION AND COMMITTEES

9.3 ADMINISTRATION REPORTS

9.3.1 Mid-Cycle Adjustments to 2023-2026 Service Plans and Budgets, C2024-1097 A document entitled "Distribution 2: Police Commission Budget Request (Updated)" was distributed on 2024 November 13 with respect to Report C2024-1097.

The following documents were distributed on 2024 November 15 with respect to Report C2024-1097:

- Revised Cover Report;
- Revised Attachment 1;
- Revised Attachment 3;
- Revised Attachment 5;
- Revised Attachment 8;
- Revised Attachment 12;
- Revised Attachment 14;
- Revised Attachment 16;
- Revised Attachment 17;
- A document entitled "Distribution 3: Mid-Cycle Adjustments to 2023-2026 Service Plans and Budgets"; and
- Public Submissions 1-25.

Mayor Gondek called the meeting to order at 9:34 a.m. on 2024 November 18.

ROLL CALL

Councillor Penner, Councillor Wyness, Councillor Wong, Councillor Pootmans, Councillor Dhaliwal, Councillor Mian, Councillor McLean, Councillor Chu, Councillor Walcott, Councillor Sharp, Councillor Carra, Councillor Chabot, and Mayor Gondek

Absent from Roll Call: Councillor Demong and Councillor Spencer

Councillor Demong (Remote Member) joined the meeting at 9:38 a.m. on 2024 November 18.

Mayor Gondek provided opening remarks.

Mayor Gondek recognized Councillor Demong as the recipient of The Recycling Council of Alberta 2024 Political Leader Award.

A presentation entitled "The Recycling Council of Alberta's 2024 Excellence Awards" was distributed with respect to Opening Remarks.

The following documents were distributed on 2024 November 18 with respect to Report C2024-1097:

 A document entitled "Response to Notice of Motion EC2024-1138 (Assessing the Efficiency and Financing Requirements of the Police Service: The Community Safety Investment Framework and the Calgary Police Service's Proposed Shooting Range";

- A presentation entitled "Distribution 4: Mid-Cycle Adjustments to the 2023-2026 Service Plans and Budgets: Re-Cap";
- A presentation entitled "Enough is Enough Have a HART";
- A letter from Truman;
- A presentation entitled "Leisure Water Expansion Project (LEAP)";
- A presentation entitled "Increase Public Investment into Safer Streets for Calgarians";
- A presentation entitled "Request for Council to Fund Traffic Calming in Garrison Woods";
- A presentation entitled "Withdrawal Resolution from the FCM ICLEI PCP Program";
- A letter from CJ Fietz;
- A presentation entitled "What are Statements of Recommended Practice?";
- A letter from Hilary Chapple;
- A presentation entitled "Calgary Climate Hub Budget 2024 Priorities";
- A document entitled "Public hearing on Budget Reconsideration November 18,2024";
- A presentation entitled "Current Support for the Inglewood Pool";
- A presentation entitled "Saving the Inglewood Pool";
- A presentation entitled "Mid-Cycle Adjustments to 2023-2026 Service Plans and Budgets C2024-1097";
- Public Submissions 26-50; and
- Public Submissions 51-59.

The following speakers addressed Council with respect to Report C2024-1097:

1. Arthur Gallant

Councillor Spencer (Remote Member) joined the meeting at 10:10 a.m. on 2024 November 18.

- 2. Reverend Samaya Oakley, Calgary Alliance for the Common Good
- 3. Jamie Blayney, Calgary Firefighters Association, IAFF Local 255
- 4. Abi Martin

- 5. Anne Landry
- 6. Maggy Wlodarczyk, Calgary ACORN
- 7. Kathy Oberg, B&A Studios
- 8. David White, CivicWorks
- 9. Jeff Booke
- 10. Melanie Todd
- 11. John Orr, Calgary Police Association
- 12. Heather Bonak
- 13. Chris Marchuk
- 14. Laura Chambers
- 15. Jakob Fushtey, Calgary Transit Riders
- 16. Timothy Hensman, Calgary Transit Riders

By General Consent, Council modified the lunch recess to start following questions of Panel 4.

17. Lothar Wiwjorra

Council recessed at 12:02 p.m. and reconvened at 1:04 p.m. on 2024 November 18 with Mayor Gondek in the Chair.

ROLL CALL

Councillor Demong Councillor Spencer, Councillor Penner, Councillor Wyness, Councillor Wong, Councillor Pootmans, Councillor Mian, Councillor McLean, Councillor Chu, Councillor Walcott, Councillor Sharp, Councillor Carra, Councillor Chabot, and Mayor Gondek

Absent from Roll Call: Councillor Dhaliwal

- 18. Chris Williams
- 19. Ehren Rebmann
- 20. Greg Miller
- 21. Brian Hahn, BILD Calgary Region
- 22. CJ Fietz
- 23. Beverly Rebmann
- 24. Guy Buchanan
- 25. Peter Oliver
- 26. Nathan Hawryluk
- 27. Gary Thompson

- 28. Betsy Mustard
- 29. Michael Storozhakov, Calgary Transit Riders
- 30. Hilary Chapple
- 31. Robert Tremblay, Calgary Climate Hub
- 32. David Barrett
- 33. Art Matsui
- 34. Marina Ortman, Save the Inglewood Pool
- 35. Ruhee Ismail-Teja, Calgary Chamber of Commerce
- 36. Bob Swan, Save the Inglewood Pool

Moved by Councillor Sharp Seconded by Councillor Mian

That pursuant to Section 6(1) of Procedure Bylaw 35M2017, Council suspend Section 78(1)(b), to forego the afternoon recess in order to complete public submissions.

Against: Councillor Chabot and Councillor Wyness

MOTION CARRIED

- 37. Flora Gillespie
- 38. Mary Anne Schleinich
- 39. Hazen Ellwood
- 40. Fiona McKenzie/Bob Swan, Save the Inglewood Pool
- 41. Frano Cavar, Calgary Construction Association
- 42. Michael Jones
- 43. Denys Robinson
- 44. Margaret Fong
- 45. Lisa Poole
- 46. Justin Simaluk

Moved by Councillor Mian Seconded by Councillor Sharp

That Council recess, to reconvene at 9:30 a.m. on 2024 November 19.

MOTION CARRIED

Council recessed at 4:31 p.m. on 2024 November 18.